Fattoria di Maiano, whose origins date back to the 1400s, enjoys an enviable position in the green hills between Fiesole and Settignano, just 5km from the historic centre of Florence. Holiday accomodation is offered in apartments located on the Farm in ancient converted rural buildings and in the buildings that once housed the cloistered monastery. Here the sweetness of the wooded slopes alternates with the steep contours of the Maiano quarries, once a precious mining basin. And it was precisely from these quarries that master stonecutters obtained the sandstone with which they built the Florentine buildings and homes. Today, Fattoria di Maiano still retains its ancient natural beauty, also thanks to the creation of new woodland and careful restructuring. The already rich landscape heritage is complemented by the farming produce, the splendid olive groves and the variety of animals reared on the farm. While the echoes of its historical past still resonate between the imposing quarries and the majestic trunks of the ancient trees. Walking along the paths of the estate is like taking a journey back to the origins of Medici Florence. The small village of Maiano, set on the slopes of Monte Ceceri, was both the destination and source of brilliant artists in the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. At the Fattoria you can still explore the places that inspired sculptors, painters, engineers and architects. From Boccaccio to Michelangelo, from Benedetto and Giuliano da Maiano to Leonardo Da Vinci, who experimented with his first flying machines in these hills. The Laghetto delle Colonne lake, at the heart of the Fattoria, owes its name to the columns of the Cappella dei Principi chapel, in the Basilica of San Lorenzo. Which, by order of Lorenzo the Magnificent, were in fact built with stones from the quarry that still overlooks the lake. The same stone was also used for Michelangelo's famous staircase, at the Biblioteca Medicea Laurenziana. Present day Fattoria Maiano owes much to the work of Sir John Temple Leader. Cultured humanist and son of English industrialists, Sir Temple Leader bought the Borgo and Villa di Maiano in 1844, as well as the quarries and other sites. He then started an impressive neo-medieval renovation process. Thanks to his ingenuity, you can admire the splendid Parco Romantico della Regina, inaugurated by Queen Victoria herself in 1893, and watch your reflection in the Laghetto delle Colonne from the bridge dedicated to his lost wife, Maria Luisa de 'Leoni. Enjoy a pleasant refreshment at the Casa del Tè, after a walk in the Botanic Gardens crossing the ancient streets of the stonemasons. Or meditate, captivated by the view, sitting on a bench in the shade of the majestic oaks and Tuscan cypresses. The work of Sir Temple Leader was continued following his death, by the well-known surgeon Teodoro Stori and his wife Elisabetta Corsini, of the noble Florentine Principi Corsini family. They carried out further afforestation and development of agricultural activities. In turn, their niece, Lucrezia Corsini, took on the evolution of the Farm together with her husband, Count Giacomo Miari Fulcis, predecessor of the noble Venetian family and innovator in the agricultural sector. Today, Fattoria di Maiano is home to almost 20,000 olive trees, from which the olives are carefully picked and processed at the company oil mill, and which produce an excellent extra virgin olive oil as well as the prized Laudemio. The implementation of organic crops, free-range breeding and tourism activities, such as catering and hospitality, represent invaluable Tuscan excellence. A unique opportunity to enjoy the rustic purity of the landscape and the contemporary comforts of refined renovation.